How do I have my Arkansas license
verified to another state?
For a written verification to be sent to another state you
must submit a request in writing to the Arkansas State Board
of Physical Therapy along with the $15.00 fee for certification
processing. Your written request should include your name
as it appears on your license, your license number, and
the name and address of the state board to which the certification
should be sent. Normal processing time is within one week.
How do I change my name or address
with the Board?
You must provide written notification to the Board office
for name and address changes. An address/name change form
can be downloaded from this website under forms.
A name change must be accompanied with a copy of the legal
document that constituted the change. (Ex. marriage license
or divorce decree). New licenses are not automatically issued
for name changes. A request for a new license must be included
along with the written request for the name change.
Q. How do I get a
You may obtain a duplicate license by submitting a written
request to the Board.
Q. How do I request
a list of physical therapist/physical therapist assistants
for solicitation of continuing education courses?
A list of physical therapist/physical therapist assistants
is $50.00 and mailing labels are $75.00 To obtain a list
or labels, send a written request along with the fee to
the Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy. A list in
Excel format can be e-mailed to you. The Board does not
offer the list on diskette or CD. Please specify order.
(Ex. alphabetical or zip code order).
Q. How often does the Board
There is no set schedule but there are at least two meetings
Q. I haven't been
practicing in Arkansas and allowed my Arkansas license to
expire. How do I renew my license?
To return to regular status, the applicant must complete
the reinstatement form; demonstrate completion of delinquent
continuing education requirements up to four units (40 contact
hours); and pay the annual license fee plus a reinstatement
fee of $75.00 for physical therapist and $50.00 for physical
therapist assistants. The reinstatement form can be obtained
by calling the Board office or by downloading from this
website under forms.
Q. What are the renewal
$75.00 for physical therapist and $50.00 for physical therapist
assistants. Physical therapists and physical therapist assistants
who have not paid annual renewal fees by March 1 will be
allowed to renew by paying a late fee of $100 per month.
How many contact hours are required
for licensure renewal?
Physical therapists are required 20 hours and physical therapist
assistants 10 hours for renewal every odd year. (i.e.: 2003,
Q. How do I file a complaint
against a physical therapist/physical therapist assistant?
Refer to filing a
complaint on this website.
Q. What shall I do if I
believe someone is violating the Physical Therapy practice
It is your legal and ethical responsibility to report any
suspected violation of the law to the Board. Violators may
include unlicensed persons who aid and abet the illegal
and unsafe practice of physical therapy as well as physical
therapists or physical therapist assistants who are practicing
outside the scope of law.
How do I obtain an application
To request a license application for physical therapist/physical
therapist assistant, call the Board at 501-228-7100. The
application and instructions can also be downloaded from
this website under applying
Once I apply, how long does it take
to get a license?
Following receipt of all required documents, the average
processing time is three days.
Q. What is the passing
score for the licensure exam?
Passing score on the national licensing examination is the
criterion referenced score of 600. All 53 jurisdictions
require the same.
Q. How many times can
a candidate sit for the exam?
Upon payment of the appropriate fee, applicants who do not
pass the exam after the first attempt may re-take the examination
one additional time without re-application for licensure.
This must occur within six months from the first failure.
Prior to being approved by the Board for subsequent testing
beyond two attempts, individuals shall re-apply and demonstrate
evidence satisfactory to the Board of having successfully
completed additional clinical training and/or course work
as determined by the Board.
Q. What is the fee for licensure?
Refer to applying for
licensure on this website.
What methods are accepted for payment
The Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy accepts payments
by personal check, cashiers check or money order. The Federation
of State Boards of Physical Therapy, owners of the examination,
receives direct payments from candidates. They accept cashiers
checks, money orders or credit cards.