Arkansas Department of Health Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy
About the Board
Applying for Licensure
Rules and Regulations, Practic Act
Online Services
Filing a Complaint
Continuing Education
Board News
Disciplinary Action

About the Board

The Board consists of five members appointed by the Governor for three year terms. Four of those members are to be from each congressional district in order to provide statewide representation of physical therapists. One member shall not be engaged in or retired from the practice of physical therapy and shall serve as the representative of the public interest. This is a voting member but shall not participate in examination administration.

The Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy was created by Act 1232 of 1991. Prior to that time licensing was by the Arkansas Medical Board.

The Board is a licensing and regulatory organization created to protect the public from incompetent, unprofessional and unlawful practice of physical therapy. Laws are established to set forth standards for the practice of physical therapy, continuing education and testing, and to define the scope and limitations of practice. The board receives, investigates and adjudicates complaints against licensees. The most important function of the board is consumer protection.

Board Members
Sam Denton, PT Member
Velvet Medlock, PT Member
Rob Jordan, PT Member
Rob Tillman, PT Member
Don Pierce, Public Member

Attorney for the Board
Sara Farris

Staff Members
Nancy Worthen, Executive Director
Lyndsey R. Kinsey, Administrative Specialist III